Confirmation

The Sacrament of Confirmation

Contact: Andrew McCarthy
Youth and Young Adult Minister
amccarthy@stjoanofarcva.org

Congratulations to the youth who were Confirmed into the life of the Holy Spirit on April 27, 2017 at St. Joan of Arc Catholic Church.

The Sacrament of Confirmation is a moment of initiation into the Church, for the purpose of mission to the world. As a sacrament of initiation, Confirmation completes baptismal grace and enables candidates to live the mission of the Church more readily.

By virtue of the authority granted by the Catholic Church, Bishop Francis X. DiLorenzo has set the appropriate age for preparation and reception of the Sacrament of Confirmation to be when an individual is both at least 15 years of age and enrolled in at least the tenth grade in the Catholic Diocese of Richmond. This new norm was made effective as of July 1, 2010

If your teen is at least 15 years of age and is enrolled in at least the tenth grade please contact Andrew McCarthy for information regarding the 2017-2018 Confirmation program. Confirmation preparation will begin in September 2017.

Confirmation Schedule and Important Dates (May Be Subject to Change):

Saturday, September 10: Parent Orientation (Parents and Confirmandi Must Attend) 6:30 – 8:30
Saturday, September 24: Confirmation Session #1
Friday – Saturday, September 30 – October 1: Confirmation Lock In
Saturday, October 22: Confirmation Session # 2
Saturday, November 5: Confirmation Session # 3
Saturday, December 17: Confirmation Session # 4
Saturday, January 7: Confirmation Session #5
Friday – Sunday, February 3 – 5: Confirmation Retreat
Saturday, February 18: Confirmation Session # 6
Saturday, March 18: Confirmation Session # 7
Saturday, April 22: Confirmation Session # 8
Thursday, April 27: Confirmation Liturgy 7:00pm
Saturday, May 13: Mystagogy session

All classes are from 2:00 – 5:00 unless otherwise indicated

Forms:

More Information: